Municipal Administration

Municipal Administration

City Politics

The Municipal Administration of the City of Frankfurt am Main

Magistrate's conference room, Photo: Stefan Maurer
Municipal Administration's conference room © Stadt Frankfurt am Main, Photo: Stefan Maurer

The Municipal Administration ("Magistrat") is the "government" of the City of Frankfurt am Main.

As the administrative and "executive body", the Municipal Administration decides on current administrative matters, prepares resolutions of the City Council and implements them. In fulfilling these tasks, the Municipal Administration is supported by the City Administration, which reports to it with its offices and operations.

The Frankfurt Municipal Administration currently consists of the Lord Mayor, the Mayor and City Treasurer and 9 other full-time and 14 honorary city councillors.